Anthony Hickey, Ph.D.

Anthony Hickey, Ph.D.

Senior Research and Development Advisor and Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Hickey is Professor Emeritus in Pharmacoengineering and Molecular Pharmaceutics at the Eshelman School of Pharmacy of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and also Distinguished Fellow and Program Director in inhaled therapeutics in the Center for Engineered Systems at RTI International. Dr. Hickey is also Adjunct Professor of biomedical engineering at the University of North Carolina (UNC) School of Medicine.

He received the David W Grant Award in Physical Pharmacy of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (2015); Thomas T Mercer Joint Prize for Excellence in Inhaled Medicines and Pharmaceutical Aerosols of the American Association for Aerosol Research and the International Society for Aerosols in Medicine (2017) and the Ralph Shangraw Memorial Award for Excipient and Excipient Technology of the International Pharmaceutical Excipient Consortium Foundation (2018). In addition, he was recognized by the Triangle Business Journal (Raleigh, NC) in 2015 as Life Science Consultant of the Year, and in 2019 by RTI International with the Margaret Elliott Knox Excellence Award. He has edited/authored nine texts on pharmaceutical inhalation aerosols and coauthored seven others on pharmaceutical process engineering, particulate science, pharmaco-complexity and tuberculosis therapy.

Dr. Hickey is the founder of three pharmaceutical companies — Cirrus Pharmaceuticals Inc. (1997), Oriel Therapeutics Inc. (2001) and Astartein LLC (2013). He served as Chief Science Officer of Oriel Therapeutics from 2002 to 2007, which was acquired by Sandoz in 2010. He has also served as President and CEO of Cirrus Pharmaceuticals from its founding until its acquisition by Kemwell in 2013.

Dr. Hickey holds his Ph.D. and D.Sc. in pharmaceutical sciences from Aston University in Birmingham, UK. He is a Fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science, American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, the Royal Society of Biology and Royal Society of Medicine.